Another display of dominance from Symon

Chris Symon has taken back to back victories in the opening round of the 2018/19 Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship. Symon put on another display of dominance, leading him Billy Frazer and Liam Foster.

It only took one lap for Symon to gap the field again, leaving a nine-car train to fight for second. Frazer, Foster, Reece Hendl-Cox, Thomas Boniface, Taylor Hurst, Amy Smith, Ron Carter, Ronan Murphy and Travis Day all traded positions for the entirety of the race.

Lap six saw Boniface fall victim to a brake failure at the hairpin, unfortunately collecting Taylor Hurst on his way off the track. After rejoining, Boniface fell off the road again at Higgins and was left stranded in the gravel trap for the remainder of the race.

Reece Hendl-Cox came home fourth,  Amy Smith fifth, Ron Carter sixth, Ronan Murphy seventh, Travis Day eighth, Nathan Sudiono ninth and Louis Redshaw tenth.

Darren Henderson narrowly missed out on a top ten, finishing 11th ahead of Kyan Davie, Andrew Tierney, Taylor Hurst, Dave Scammell and Rob Baker. Thomas Boniface and Flynn Mullany did not finish the race.

Photo: Tayler Burke

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *