Former Champ returns for 2018 One Hour

The annual Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship One Hour takes place this weekend at Manfeild Circuit Chris Amon and sees the return of a former champion to create a dual-drive team of champions.

Matt Higham, 2011/12 NZ Formula First Champion, teams up with 2002/03 Champ Paul Butler to tackle the traditional race. The duo will compete in 2008/09 champion, Ian Foster’s car. Shaun Logan and Jared Nicholson pair up to complete the other Dual-Drive entry.

Young-gun Louis Redshaw comes to put a full stop on his debut season after missing the final rounds of the National Championship. Dave Scammell, too, returns after missing the final rounds while Ron Carter will grid up in a new car after a season away from the class. Rob Baker will make his debut in the class too, steering the #40 machine.

The young chargers of Liam Foster, Amy Smith, Taylor Hurst and Alex Hawley will also take to the grid. Both Hawley and Smith have been a runner-up in the One Hour in previous years and will both be very keen to get their name on the prestigious trophy that is awarded to the winner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *