« Back
Print  2 Comments  Send

Aaron Hodgson - 2009 Speedsport Scholarship Winner
 - 15-Jun-2009

Going into its ninth year the Speedsport Star of Tomorrow Motoracing Scholarship evaluation weekend was held at Manfeild 13/14th June.

Although entries were down on previous years there was still a very spirited level of competition, including two international entries. Ex pat Kiwi Brendon Whittleston back from Sydney, and South African born Jason Poupard flew in from Dubai, Jasons Father being the head farrier to the Royal stable, the Poupard family will be settling in NZ Soon, Jason doing Automotive course in Auckland.

Day one of the evaluation weekend was going well but halfway through the second judging session, a split oil cooler spread oil all over the track and the team was forced to abandon the day, hoping for some over night rain to wash away the oil. The oil was gone come sunday morning and the sun was out drying the track. The entrants went though a practice and two Judging sessions before the Judges made their choice.
The winner of the 2009 Scholarship is Aaron Hodgson of Auckland 15 Years old with 8 years karting experience.

Aaron will begin his car racing career at the Manfeild Winter Series starting June 28th.
Speedsport Scholarship 2009 Finalists
Finalists from left to right, Andrew Patterson - Gisborne, Winner Aaron Hodgson - Auckland, Mike Turley - Auckland, Jason Poupard - Dubai, Brendon Whittleston - Sydney, Hayden Pederson - Rotorua, Matt Higham (Runner up) - Auckland
Article supplied by Sabre Motorsport - visit for more information on the Speedsport 'Star of Tomorrow' scholarship.

Print  2 Comments  Send

<< Back

Click for more info on our sponsors

© 2015 Formula Vee Association of New Zealand