Podjursky Moment Hands Crighton Win

A costly final lap mistake by Matt Podjursky saw his maiden race win elude him, subsequently seeing Arran Crighton take the win.

The eventual race winner and Podjursky claimed the top two spots as their own as they broke away from the third placed Bramwell King. After numerous lead changes Podjursky looked to have the win as he lead along the main straight, until a mechanical drama saw him head into the chase too hot and spin off the track.

“It was just some compression lock. I felt it bogging all race and knew something was going to happen eventually.” Said a gutted Podjursky.

The front running rookie battle of Dylan Smith, Kaleb Ngatoa, Callum Crawley and Reece Hendi-Cox boiled over on the fifth lap when Hendi-Cox, leader of rookie championship, and Dylan Smith, second in rookie points, came together. The contact wouldn’t prove terminal for either, however it allowed Ngatoa to run away to take fourth.

A lightning start by Alex Hawley saw him blaze through the grid and climb well into the top ten.

Hawley then led the battle for ninth with Bob Dillow, Amy Smith and Travis Day. Day would end up the victor of that battle, taking ninth over Dillow, Hawley, Smith and Carter.

Series newcomer Sam Fletcher finished a distant 14th.

1. #5 Arran Crighton
2. #2 Bramwell King
3. #28 Chris Symon
4. #15 Kaleb Ngatoa
5. #77 Matt Podjursky
6. #19 Reece Hendi-Cox
7. #79 Callum Crawley
8. #53 Dylan Smith
9. #25 Travis Day
10. #63 Bob Dillow
11. #41 Alex Hawley
12. #71 Amy Smith
13. #24 Ron Carter
14. #64 Sam Fletcher

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *