Symon spices up championship decider

Chris Symon’s strong results at Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park have continued, resulting in pole position for the final round of the Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship. Championship leader Matt Podjursky set his fastest time on his first lap to secure second on the grid.

Bramwell King looked to be starting further back than ideal until a last minute lap put him up into third, starting just behind championship rival Podjursky. It was a similar story for Arran Crighton, the former series leader will start sixth, behind tough competitors such as Brody McConkey and Reece Hendl-Cox who will start fourth and fifth respectively.

Callum Crawley put his best foot forward to beat Kaleb Ngatoa in the championship, qualifying seventh, to places ahead of the ninth-placed Ngatoa. Travis Day will start in between them in eighth, beating his nearest championship rival Dylan Smith.

Smith’s run was cut short when his car dropped a lot of oil on the track, prompting him to save the engine and retire from the session. The SpeedSport Scholarship driver’s only lap was good enough to end up 12th of the grid.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *