Blincoe wins after massive final lap crash

Zac Blincoe has won again in the Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship after winning a crash-marred race 18 at Manfeild Circuit Chris Amon. Chris Symon finished in second place with Leo Scott in third place.

Once again a six-car battle pack for the lead emerged early on in the race. Everything was going swimmingly until the last lap when the battle boiled over with a massive crash took out championship leader Liam Foster. Hayden Bakkerus collected the rear of Foster’s car heading into Splash and launched into the air and across the track into Brody McConkey. All three cars ended up stranded off the track and out of contention.

The race resumed at the front with eventual winner Blincoe coming under pressure from Symon, but the latter ultimately finished second by just 0.245s.

After Scott in third was Louis Sharp with Liam Nicholson fifth. Dylan Grant took sixth ahead of Bob Dillow in seventh, Toby McCormack in eighth, Mason Potter in ninth and Darren Henderson in tenth.

Rob Baker finished 11th with Andrew Tierney 12th while Jensen Foster finished 13th after a spin during the race.