Championship leaders lock out front row in qualifying

The Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship leaders have locked out the front row during quaalfying for the penultimate round of the season at Pukekohe Park.

Chris Symon will start from pole position with Liam Foster alongside him in second. The pair are separated by just seven points on the leaderboard were just seven-hundreths apart in their qualifying times with Symon leader the way in both.

Zach Blincoe was the next fastest in third overall and best of the rookie racers, just 0.293s from Symon’s time. Leo Scott will start on the second row too in fourth place. Hayden Bakkeruss will start fifth with Dylan Grant beside him in sixth.

Louis Sharp set the seventh fastest time of the session ahead of Toby McCormack, Jensen Foster and Friday’s fast man Liam Nicholson. Mason Potter, Andrew Tierney and Rob Baker rounded out the rear of the field in 11th, 12th and 13th respectively.