Chris Symon clinches win at Pukekohe

Chris Symon has won race 16 of the Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship at Pukekohe Park. Symon crossed the line side-by-side with Reece Hendl-Cox who ended up just. 0.014s behind in second.

The dynamic of the race ever-changing as the battle packs constantly changed throughout the race. Initially, Symon, Hendl-Cox and Liam Foster broke away and battled for the lead.

The fight for fourth broke out between Amy Smith, Ian Foster and Asten Addy. The trio fought fiercely until Smith broke away and challenged for the lead briefly before making contact with Liam Foster which saw Foster retire with broken steering and a flat tyre.

Leo Scott managed to sneak his way into third while Asten Addy snuck into fourth. Ian Foster dropped back and started a battle for fifth with Bree Morris which he would later win.

Ron Carter took seventh place ahead of Matthew McCutcheon and Liam Nicholson with Amy Smith dropping down to tenth.