Chris Symon gets one hand on trophy with race win

Chris Symon now has one hand on the 2020-21 Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship trophy after winning race 22 at Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park. Symon controlled the race from start to finish as Liam Foster and Leo Scott battled for second place behind him.

Foster would eventually finish in second place, 2.2s behind Symon which increased the latter’s points lead to 124-points with just 150 more on offer tomorrow. Scott came home in third place just 0.2s behind Foster at the line.

Louis Sharp was the best of the rookies in fourth place after a good battle with Zach Blincoe who finished in fifth place. Hayden Bakkerus crossed the line in sixth with Liam Nicholson seventh and Jensen Foster eighth.

Mason Potter and Toby McCormack rounded out the top ten ahead Craig Greenwood and Rob Baker in 11th and 12th. Cory Silk finished in 13th with Andrew Tierney 14th. Dylan Grant finished in 15th after pitting mid-race with an issue.