Chris Symon steals final race of the weekend at Manfeild

Chris Symon now has a 155-point lead in the 2021-22 Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship after claiming race 16 of the championship at Manfeild Circuit Chris Amon. With just 225-points left on offer for the season, Symon can theoretically wrap up the title after the first race of the season finale on ANZAC weekend.

Symon didn’t look like he’d be in for the win on the exit of the final corner as he had a small moment but a slightly bigger moment for the then leader, Zach Blincoe, meant Symon had a superior run to the chequered flag and managed to cross the line a mere 0.037-seconds ahead of Blincoe. Mason Potter finished in third with Grant in fourth. Symon, Blincoe, Potter and Grant had all scrapped hard during the entirety of the race, often running three-wide and two-by-two through corners.

Blake Dowdall finished in fifth place ahead of Mauro Iglesias in sixth and Jensen Bate in seventh. Jack Groenewald was eighth ahead of Darren Henderson in ninth and Jacob Bellamy in tenth.

Jensen Foster came home 11th after spinning after an incident with Mauro Iglesias earlier in the race. Hayden Lines raced with an engine issue for the majority of the race which meant he could only manged 12th. Liam Nicholson failed to finish while Cory Silk did not start due to his ongoing engine issues.