Chris Symon takes Pukekohe pole

Chris Symon has topped the qualifying for round two of the 2019/20 Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship. Held at Pukekohe Park, the delayed session looked like it could be held in wet conditions with light precipitation greeting the circuit just moments before the session started.

The weather on the horizon held off though, allowing a dry session to be run. Running on the 2.91km circuit with the back-straight complex, it saw the ever-important tow become super important. The more experienced drivers showed their prowess, gaining a tow without having to sacrifice time due to running in a pack.

Symon was the only driver to breach the one-minute and 20-second mark, setting a 1:20.768. Meanwhile, young Kyan Davie set a time just 0.496s slower which was enough to put him second fastest. The ever consistent Liam Foster will start third ahead of championship leader Reece Hendl-Cox by just 0.004s.

Amy Smith will start in fifth ahead of Asten Addy, the highest placed rookie. Matthew McCutcheon starts seventh with Leo Scott eighth, Ron Carter ninth and Liam Nicholson tenth. Louis Redshaw, Breanna Morris and Mauro Iglesias rounded out the field.