Chris Symon wins again; seals championship

Chris Symon is now champion-elect for the 2020-21 Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship after winning the penultimate race of the season at Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park.

Symon and second-placed Liam Foster controlled the race from the front through two safety car interruptions. Just behind the leaders was Louis Sharp and Leo Scott who were battling for third-place honours. Sharp put a decisive move on Scott at the chase on the final lap to grab the third spot ahead of Scott.

Liam Nicholson drove a strong race to finish in fifth, leading the battle pack of Mason Potter, sixth, Dylan Grant, seventh, Hayden Bakkerus, eighth, Jensen Foster, ninth and Toby McCormack in tenth.

Andrew Tierney came home in 11th with Cory Silk in 12th. Zach Blincoe and Rob Baker both got beached on separate occasions, prompting two brief safety car interventions during the race.