Chris Symon wins crash shortened race

Chris Symon has taken the race win in a dramatic end to Sunday’s first Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship race at Pukekohe Park.

A crash involving rookie Mason Potter and Liam Nicholson caused a red flag on the penultimate lap of the race, prematurely ending the proceedings. Due to the red flag ending the race early, the race results were declared on the finishing order of lap six, handing the win to Symon.

There were tight battles through the race with the top five forming their own brake-away group which battled for the lead that changed countless times over the course of the race.

Series returnee Brody McConkey finished in second place with Liam Foster taking the last step on the podium with third place. Amy Smith was right in the running for a race win, battling with the podium trio but ultimately came home fourth.

Zac Blincoe and Leo Scott came home fifth and sixth after spending much of the race in their own battle with Hayden Bakkerus in seventh. Louis Sharp recovered to take eighth after losing ground at the start of the race.

Dylan Grant and Jamie Newton came home in ninth and tenth respectively with Jensen Foster following them home to take 11th. Toby McCormack and Rob Baker taking 12th and 13th one lap down.