Dylan Grant claims first race at Manfeild

Dylan Grant has come back from the disappointment last weekend at Taupo to win the opening race of the penultimate round of the 2021-22 Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship.

Grant, back at Manfeild where last time out he set a new lap record, won the race by 0.154-seconds over championship rival Chris Symon. The battle for the lead wasn’t decided until the final metre of the race in what was a four car fight for first. Just 0.067-seconds further behind was Zach Blincoe in third with Mason Potter fourth.

Jensen Foster’s strong run of consistent results continued with another fifth place finish ahead of Hayden Lines. Lines crucially finished ahead multiple places ahead of rookie of the year rival Jensen Bate. Blake Dowdall finished seventh with Liam Nicholson eighth and Bate ninth.

Jacob Bellamy, making his NZ Formula First debut, finished in a highly commendable tenth place beating out Jack Groenewald and Darren Henderson in 11th and 12th respectively.

Mauro Iglesias did not finish while engine drama ruled Cory Silk out before the race start.