Foster wins again at Taupō

Liam Foster has won the race 12 of the Hi-Q Components 2020-21 NZ Formula First Championship by a distant margin over championship leader Chris Symon.

Brody McConkey had been in the fight for the lead with Foster for the majority of the race until one of his wheels parted ways with the car on the penultimate lap, leaving him stranded on the side of the track.

Zac Blincoe was left to inherit another podium finish, coming home in third ahead of Hayden Bakkerus. Mason Potter recorded a fifth-place finish ahead of Leo Scott, Liam Nicholson and Craig Greenwood in sixth, seventh and eighth respectively.

Jensen Foster, ninth, and Dylan Grant, tenth, rounded out the top ten after a ding-dong battle towards the end of the race. Darren Henderson and Andrew Tierney were also battling hard just outside the ten, the pair finishing in 11th and 12th respectively.

Benjamin Kok crossed the line 13th ahead of Toby McCormack, Rob Baker and Jamie Newton. The latter trio were all involved in a skirmish which resulted in them being stuck on the outside of turn five. A brilliant job by the rescue crew meant they were all recovered and able to continue to race.

Brody McConkey did not finish the race while Louis Sharp did not start due to damage sustained earlier.