Hendl-Cox continues winning streak

Reece Hendl-Cox has continued his winning streak in the 2018/19 Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship. Hendl-Cox held off fast and racy Brody McConkey who finished second in an incredibly close finish.

Billy Frazer notched up another podium finish, taking third place while Liam Foster took fourth by just 0.115s. Thomas Boniface made decisive moves through-out the race but was outsmarted by his more experienced competitors and had to settle for fifth.

Championship hopeful Chris Symon was unable to mount a challenge for the win, remaining at the back of the lead pack for the majority of the race. Symon would eventually finish sixth ahead of Amy Smith, seventh, who drove right up to the back of Symon in the later phase of the race.

After qualifying fourth rookie Ronan Murphy was unable to get his car off the line and fell in the rear of the field before the first turn. He recovered slightly and engaged in a battle with Ron Carter for eighth. Murphy took the position with Carter ninth and Craig Greenwood tenth.

The battle for the minor positions was intriguing as Kyan Davie, Louis Redshaw and Flynn Mullany all duked it out for the position. The trio would end the race 11th, 12th and 13th respectively.

Nathan Sudiono was involved in an incident which left him at the back of the field early on, eventually finishing 15th ahead of Liam Nicholson and Rob Baker. Taylor Hurst retired from the race at the very start with mechanical drama’s.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.