Hendl-Cox gets second fifer of the season

Reece Hendl-Cox has gone five from five again with another race win in the 2018/19 Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship. It was another record breaking race, this time Chris Symon broke the record Hendl-Cox set last race with a 1:47.914

It was another intense, dynamic and dramatic battle for the win between Hendl-Cox, Billy Frazer and Brody McConkey. The trio traded  positions all race until the battle boiled over on the penultimate lap when McConkey and Frazer came together, resulting in McConkey spinning with Frazer losing plenty of ground.

Most impressive was Frazer’s comeback, stealing second place from Foster who too spun at the beginning of the race at the same spot on the track. Foster finished third.

Thomas Boniface was the highest place rookie again in fourth position ahead of McConkey and Symon, the latter finishing with only fourth gear working. Ronan Murphy finished seventh ahead of Kyan Davie, Amy Smith and Ron Carter in tenth.

Nathan Sudiono took 11th place with Bob Dillow 12th, Darren Henderson 13th, Dave Scammell 14th and Liam Nicholson 15th. Shaun Logan came home 16th ahead of Jarad Nicholson and Rob Baker.

Craig Greenwood, Andrew Tierney and Flynn Mullany all failed to finish after an incident which caused a red flag on the oringal opening lap, prompting a full race restart.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.