Hendl-Cox hammers Hampton Downs field

Reece Hendl-Cox has won Race 17 of the 2018/19 Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship at Hampton Downs in a dominant fashion.

Whilst Hendl-Cox checked out in front, the battle for second place was fierce between Liam Foster, Chris Symon and Billy Frazer. The trio embarked on some traditional Formula First three-wide action for the majority of the race.

Tensions boiled over when Symon and Frazer made contact, resulting in the latter running through the grass. Frazer would make a great recovery though, losing only a few positions but remained on the very back of the pack.

The trio spread themselves across the line three-wide at the chequered flag, with Foster in second, ahead of Symon and Frazer. Foster would later be disqualified for a technical infringement, moving Symon and Frazer into second and third respectively.

Amy Smith finished in fourth ahead of SpeedSport Scholarship driver Ronan Murphy. Kyan Davie scored another strong finish in sixth with Bob Dillow seventh, Ron Carter eighth and Flynn Mullany ninth. Liam Nicholson finished tenth.

Rob Baker took 11th with Nathan Sudiono 12th. Thomas Boniface suffered another DNF result after a steering failure led him into the wall at turn three.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.