Hendl-Cox notches up fourth win in a row

Reece Hendl-Cox has taken his fourth win in as many races in the 2019/20 Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship. The Whakatane local’s unbeaten run now extends to seven races following his clean sweep at the final round of the previous season.

Despite starting from the second row in fourth, Hendl-Cox and pole-sitter Chris Symon quickly broke away from the rest of the field on the opening lap. The pair continued to extend their gap as they took turns at leading the race, taking advantage of the tow.

Hendl-Cox led coming over the hill but a mighty run from Symon looked like it might just be enough to steal the victory. However, Symon fell just short by 0.043s in an exciting, near-photo-finish.

The battle for third was hot too with Liam Foster, Amy Smith, Matthew McCutcheon and Asten Addy all vying for the spot for the majority of the race. Foster and Smith managed to break away on the final lap, with Foster eventually taking the position over Smith.

McCutcheon was able to edge out his rookie rival Addy for fifth. Ron Carter crossed the line in seventh ahead of Louis Redshaw and Liam Nicholson in eighth and ninth respectively.  Breanna Morris rounded out the top ten.

Kyan Davie, Mauro Iglesias and Leo Scott all retired with electrical issues.