Hendl-Cox seals Championship with race win

Reece Hendl-Cox has wrapped up the 2018/19 Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship with two races still to go in the season. Hendl-Cox sealed his title with a dominant win in Race 22 of the season at Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park.

Hendl-Cox lead home Billy Frazer, Liam Foster and Chris Symon. The three behind our champion elect didn’t make it easy for Hendl-Cox, all sharing turns in the lead in the high-speed game of checkers that is Formula First racing.

Thomas Boniface has put a 19-point dent in Ronan Murphy’s rookie of the year title lead after the Taranaki teen finished fifth to Murphy’s ninth. Amy Smith finished sixth ahead of Ron Carter, Nathan Sudiono, Murphy and Louis Redshaw.

Ian Foster recorded 11th in his first outing of the season after a good battle with Travis Day. Flynn Mullany took 13th over Craig Greenwood and Liam Nicholson. Rounding out the field were Bob Dillow and Rob Baker in 16th and 17th respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.