Hendl-Cox takes first pole of the season

Reece Hendl-Cox has taken the first pole position of the 2019/20 Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First, narrowly beating Chris Symon. The session was held in 50/50 conditions at Manfeild, with the majority of the track wet and a small part dry.

The last lap effort from Hendl-Cox gave him pole by just 0.019s over Symon with Liam Foster grabbing the third-fastest time, half a second off pole.

The big story of the session was Louis Redshaw who recorded the fourth fastest lap, his personal best. Mathew McCutcheon led the rookie charge, finishing in fifth ahead of experienced campaigner Ron Carter.

Asten Addy will start in seventh ahead of Leo Scott while Kyan Davie and Amy Smith will start on the fifth row of the grid in ninth and tenth respectively.

Braeden Snowden set the 11th fastest time, with Dave Scammell 12th, Mauro Iglesias 13th, Bree Morris 14th and Liam Nicholson 15th. Bob Dillow and Rob Baker will start 16th and 17th.