Leo Scott sets blistering pace in Manfeild qualifying

Leo Scott has set a blistering pace in qualifying for sound six of the Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship at Manfeild Circuit Chris Amon. The young gun who scored his maiden race win last round set a 1:22.425 lap time.

Championship leader Liam Foster was next fastest, just 0.165s off the pole-sitter. Rookie racer Louis Sharp set an impressive time to secure a second-row start in third-place. Sharp will start alongside fellow rookie, Hayden Bakkerus who was two-tenths slower.

Chris Symon, the new championship chaser, only managed fifth place in qualifying. The Manawatu local encountered a number of issues on Friday testing, some of which carried over to qualifying and hampered his efforts. Alongside Symon will be Zac Blincoe in sixth.

SpeedSport Scholarship driver Dylan Grant will start seventh ahead of Jensen Foster in eighth, Mason Potter in ninth and Bob Dillow in tenth.

Liam Nicholson was 11th fastest with Toby McCormack 12th, Darren Henderson 13th, Andrew Tierney 14th and Rob Baker 15th.