Liam Foster takes emphatic win at Taupō

Liam Foster has won race ten of the 2020-21 Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship after he claimed an emphatic victory at Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park.

Foster got the early lead and broke away from the chasing duo of Brody McConkey and Chris Symon just a few laps into the race. Foster’s lead continued to grow until a small mistake saw him fall back into the clutches of a now free McConkey on the penultimate lap. Foster’s pace would prove too much for McConkey who had an ailing clutch, with the latter finishing in second.

Championship leader Chris Symon finished in third place, enough to maintain his points lead over the race winner Foster.

The other highlight battle of the race was for fourth place between the rookies of Dylan Grant and Zac Blincoe. Grant started from fourth and held the position for the opening laps of the race and even latched onto the back of the top three pack. Once the top three broke away, the rookies trading positions for the remainder of the race with Blinecoe eventually scoring fourth.

Leo Scott was next in the finishing order in sixth-place, leading home Hayden Bakkerus, Louis Sharp, Liam Nicholson with Amy Smith crossing the line in tenth.

Mason Potter first outing since his large crash at Pukekohe netted him a 11th-place finish while Jensen Foster came home 12th, Toby McCormack 13th, Andrew Tierney 14th, Darren Henderson 15th, Rob Baker 16th and Benjamin Kok 17th.

Jamie Newton failed to finish.