Podjursky snatches opening win

Matt Podjursky has claimed another race win in the Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship after banging wheels with Arran Crighton across the line. Bramwell King came home just behind them in third.

Podjursky used his pole to give him the best advantage in the early phase of the race, leading Crighton and King. The race came down to the final 100m off race track as Podjursky got the run on Crighton which was as close as you will ever see before the duo banged wheels to try decide the winner. The risk-vs-reward theme starting to become apparent as both vie for the title.

Reece Hendl-Cox soon joined onto the back of the leaders but was unable to challenge for a podium position and ended up fourth.

Travis Day dropped back from the pack in sixth but made quick work of gaining the gap back as he made it by Chris Symon and into fifth while Kaleb Ngatoa and Liam Foster battled it out for seventh spot. Ngatoa eventually holding onto the position. Callum Crawley was not far behind, finishing where he started in ninth.

Amy Smith, Alex Hawley and Ron Carter engaged in a race-long battle for tenth. Smith eventually took the top ten, a great return after her engine issues. Alex Hawley and Ron Carter followed in 11th and 12th respectively.

Dylan Smith and Billy Frazer both finished at the bottom of the field after they both had car issues, slowing them out of contention. Ian Foster would not finish after dropping a lot of oil on lap three and consequently pitting and retiring that lap.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.