Record breaking Hendl-Cox wins again!

Reece Hendl-Cox has done it again! Another race win for the Whakatane local, but this time he broke the Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park race lap record on his way to victory lane. Hendl-Cox beat the previous race lap record, set by Chris Symon in 2017, by just over a tenth of a second with a 1:48.207.

The fight for the win was enthralling. Hendl-Cox, Symon, Foster and Brody McConkey battled for sheep stations, swapping positions at every corner for the entirety of the race. The high-speed game of chess came right down to the final corner where Hendl-Cox, after fighting hammer and tong for eight laps, was able to sneak through to the lead and take his fifth win in a row. Foster finished second ahead of Symon and McConkey.

Thomas Boniface finished as the lead rookie in fifth, one place ahead of his rookie rival Ronan Murphy. Billy Frazer finished sixth place after an impressive comeback after he was caught up in a first lap shunt which saw him facing the wrong way after taking avoiding action and being collected by Amy Smith.

Frazer (#14) facing the wrong way after being caught up in an incident.

Nathan Sudiono took eighth ahead of Ron Carter and Amy Smith. Bob Dillow came home 11th, Craig Greenwood 12th, Dave Scammell 13th, Andrew Tierney 14th and Flynn Mullany 15th.

Shaun Logan took 16th on his return to the series ahead of Liam Nicholson and Jarad Nicholson in 17th and 18th respectively. Rob Baker finished 19th while Kyan Davie did not finish due to a mechanical failure.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.