Symon smashes soaking wet Manfeild finale

Chris Symon has returned to the top step of the podium in the 2018/19 Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship after dominating a wet Race 15 of the series at Manfeild Circuit Chris Amon. Symon led the field home by over nine-seconds and set the fastest lap of the race by some margin.

The result marked the first time Symon had finished ahead of Championship leader Reece Hendl-Cox since his engine failure in race-six at Pukekohe and ironically Hendl-Cox had engine drama’s of his own this time which saw him finish 16th.

Rookie racer Thomas Boniface finished in second place by just 0.004s over Brody McConkey in third. Boniface put together one of the more impressive drives of the season thus far after getting a poor start and falling outside the top ten.

Billy Frazer crossed the line in fourth after a small off-track excursion while Kyan Davie ended what had been a troublesome weekend with a personal best fifth place in the tough conditions. Ron Carter took sixth ahead of Ronan Murphy.

Amy Smith finished eighth ahead of Liam Foster who toured through the pitlane after a massive moment at the final corner saw him unable to recover without diverting to the pitlane. Nathan Sudiono finished tenth.

Dave Scammell took the chequered flag 11th with Flynn Mullany 12th, Louis Redshaw 13th, Bob Dillow 14th and Darren Henderson 15th. Reece Hendl-Cox finished 16th with an engine drama while Rob Baker finished 17th.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.