Symon steals pole in tight qualifying session

Chris Symon has picked up where he left off at Manfeild, taking pole position for round two of the 2018/19 Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship at Pukekohe Park Raceway. 

In a session split by two red flags, it was Billy Frazer who set the early pace before being topped by Brody McConkey. However, in just the final few moments the Feilding school teacher, Symon, pipped McConkey by 0.098s.

Frazer ended the session with the third fastest time ahead of Amy Smith who had a long night trying to extract the pace from her car. Thomas Boniface set the fifth fastest time and was the fastest rookie.

Taylor Hurst will start sixth ahead of Reece Hendl-Cox while Barry Holden was an impressive eighth on his return to the class. Ron Carter continues with his solid pace from round one, with ninth while Liam Foster had a lacklustre session setting only the tenth fastest time.

Nathan Sudiono will start 11th ahead of his Sabre Motorsport team mates Kyan Davie and Ronan Murphy. Louis Redshaw and Dave Scammell round out the top 15.

Bob Dillow starts 16th after missing round one, with debutant Liam Nicholson behind him in 17th and Rob Baker in 18th. Flynn Mullany and Andrew Tierney will start from the rear of the grid after both causing seperate red flag incidents.

Watch this afternoons race at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.