Symon wins as Foster fails to finish

Chris Symon has won race 19 of the 2020-21 Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship at Pukekohe Park. Symon won by 0.058-seconds at the line after drafting past second-placed Leo Scott to win the race in the final few meters.

But the big championship changing stuff was Liam Foster failing to finish to race due to a mechanical issue on the penultimate lap. Foster was just seven-points behind Symon going into the race but will now have to claw back a 92-point deficit if he has any hope of claiming the championship.

Behind Symon and Scott at the front was Zach Blincoe who scored another strong podium finish result ahead of fellow rookie racer Louis Sharp. Hayden Bakkerus rounded out the top five ahead of Dylan Grant in sixth on the track. Grant would later receive a post-race penalty though for contact earlier in the race which caused Foster’s mechanical issue and would eventually finish in 11th.

Jensen Foster would finish in sixth place with Toby McCormack behind him in seventh, Liam Nicholson in eighth, Mason Potter in ninth and Rob Baker tenth. Andrew Tierney failed to finish after a crash mid-way through the race.