Zac Blincoe wins maiden Formula First race

Zac Blincoe has won his first Hi-Q Components NZ Formula First Championship race after another thrilling tussle at Manfeild Circuit Chris Amon.

Once again the fight for first commenced from the get-go, with six cars forming a battle pack near the front. The racing a fierce and fair, with multiple lead changes and scraps for the podium spots. Rookies and the masters were joining in, including Brody McConkey who started from last on the grid after missing qualifying.

On lap four one of the rookies in the pack, Louis Sharp, locked all four wheels at turn one and wasn’t able to pull it up for the corner and went straight ahead, catching out Dylan Grant who has no option but to run off the road with Sharp in Sympathy.

Whilst the two were stranded in the gravel, the race continued to run with a local yellow flag caution. However, on the following lap Leo Scott’s left-front wheel parted way with his car at turn one and forced him off the road too prompting a safety car intervention.

The race recommenced on the final lap for a one-lap dash. Blincoe lead the field for the lap while those behind him squabled for position. Brody McConkey got up to third out of Higgins and looked like he was keen for another win, but ultimately fell just short at the line, taking second-place just 0.059s behind Blincoe.

Liam Foster finished in third, just 0.069s behind McConkey – enough to extend his championship lead over Chris Symon who slowed on the final lap to finish in eighth.

Hayden Bakkerus took fourth ahead of Jensen Foster who finished a personal best fifth-placed. Bob Dillow was seventh with Symon eight, Mason Potter ninth and Toby McCormack tenth.

Darren Henderson crossed the line in 11th ahead of Andrew Tierney in 12th and Rob Baker in 13th. Leo Scott, Louis Sharp and Dylan Grant did not finish